top of page

Jared Wagner

One-thousand points. That could be 500 jump shots, 1,000 free throws or over 300 3-pointers. It doesn't matter how it happens, 1,000 points is a lot of shots going through the net. And for Central York fans they've been able to see consecutive 1,000 point High School careers, most recently Jared Wagner.

Central York basketball star player, Jared Wagner scored his 1,000 point in the district semi-final game against Spring Grove. “It was a pretty cool accomplishment and it was awesome that a lot of my family was there to see it happen. What made it even more special was to finish that game off with a win is what ultimately I care about the most.” Wagner said.

Wagner hit a last second shot in the game to beat Spring Grove by one on Feb. 23. Wagner said that his competitive nature has positively affected his work ethic and gameplay. “I've just always enjoyed competing no matter what it is and I think you can really see that when I play. I just try to give 100 percent in every workout, practice or game and I think that is one of the major reasons I have been successful.”

Some say it's Wagner’s on court emotions that have that has lifted him and his team to compete at a high level all season. “I've always been taught to give everything I do 100 percent and to never have any regrets. I really take that to heart. I can't always control whether I have the best game of my life or not, but one thing I can always control is the amount of effort I give every time I walk onto the court.”

Wagner’s hard-working attitude showed in his stats this season. Not only has he been able to score his 1,000 career point,but also he led Central in scoring with 19 points per-game. Wagner helped the team

Wagner said he has been playing basketball for his whole life, “my mom has pictures of me playing organized basketball as early as 5 or 6-year-old.” And next year he will be moving on to the next chapter in his long career of basketball playing for the York College Spartans.

“Basketball has always been a major part of my life and I don't know what I would do without it,” Wagner said. Both of Wagner’s parents played basketball, as well as two of his uncles. “I got most my passion and love for basketball from my grandpa though. He had a stroke when I was very young and didn't get to really watch me play any organized basketball in person, and what hits me hardest is I don't remember having a real conversation with him before his stroke. He passed away back in 2011.

Before every game right before starting lineups, I squat down and put my hand on a seat on the bench and pray that he can be there in spirit and can watch me play from above. The past weeks, as my name and picture was in the paper more, many people who knew my grandpa told me how proud he would be of me as a person and as a basketball player.”

Wagner’s basketball career has called “remarkable” and “unforgettable,” but it has been about a lot more than just scoring 1,000 points. “I just play the game of basketball in a way that makes not only my team, coaches, school and fans proud, but also in a way to make my family proud.”

bottom of page