top of page

Review of CYPA’s production of EMMA! A Pop Musical

I laughed.

I almost cried.

I felt like a proud mom.

EMMA! A Pop Musical, was quite the debut for Central’s first show under the leadership of theater teacher Ben Hodge and music teacher Nicholas Curry.

I knew by the time we got to intermission that it was quite a way for CYPA to make its entrance. And what an entrance it was. You know how in weddings the bridal party will sometimes dance their way into the reception? And naturally, some pull it off with humor and skill whereas others kind of just flop. Well, CYPA did the former.

The countless hours, sweat and effort that went into the show’s production were evident.

Frankie (get it, like frankly?), it was funny. Especially the four occurrences in which Harriet [Katie Fonda] broke out in “Be My Baby.” That got me. Every. Single. Time.

“Chapel of Love,” was a great introduction to the show, bringing the whole cast together for one heck of a bop.

I’ve got to make a confession: every time Jeff Knightley [Koby Fink] walked onstage, I got in my bag. Jeff was a pal throughout the entire show and I didn’t like Frankie [Trevor Blood] and Emma [Kaitlyn Arrow] together any more than he did. At one point, I thought I was going to cry.

I will note that I was just as captivated by the background dancers/ensemble as I was the leads. The level of talent was impressive, from vocals to choreography (which was exceptional I might add— so great job Kesiah Patil and Lilliana Koicuba).

The ensemble shone in, “Heartbreaker,” and, “Man! I Feel Like a Woman!” — not to say I wasn’t impressed by their performance the entire time. I was.

“Straight up,” was a scene that I wanted to watch again and again and again. Kazoos and singing.

Honestly what more could a girl ask for? It was a match made in heaven. Any musical that can find a way to incorporate kazoos is a win in my book.

Oscar-worthy.

Not to mention the fact that the people playing the kazoos somehow switched from kazooing to whistling to singing— all whilst remaining straight-faced. I’m pretty sure I can safely call that an act of God.

I knew CYPA had a bright future in the midst of the Friday night performance. “The girls” and backup dancers of Highbury Prep were performing “Gotta Be/Whatta Man,” but the background music accidentally cut out. There was nothing for the dancers to go off of to keep track of the songs or a rhythm to help with dancing. However, no one would have known there was a problem.

Singing and dancing flawlessly, they all continued to perform. I was stunned. No one froze. No one hesitated. Nor did I hesitate to make note of the skill required to pull off something like that.

Perhaps the amount of “song-terruptions” was a bit much at times, but with such a talented cast, I sure didn’t mind.

The dancers shone once again in “Turn the Beat Around,” and “I Wanna Dance With Somebody.”

I can’t forget to mention that there were Frankie Churchill posters and t-shirts everywhere. In the “Whatta Man” sequence, there was a point where everyone was holding a magazine and, naturally, Frankie’s face was all over them. The level of commitment to even the most minor of details was noteworthy.

Without a doubt, EMMA! A Pop Musical has left me in anticipation of what’s to come for the future of CYPA.

bottom of page