top of page

Central senior receives prestigious Air Force ROTC scholarship

For Central senior Maslyn Behler, going into the military was something she said she always felt drawn towards. “I remember when I was little, we would go to Annapolis for the day, and I would see the midshipmen from the Naval Academy. I looked up to them as someone I wanted to be like someday. My goal in my future career is to serve and make our country a better place, help people as much as I can, work hard, grow as a person and a leader and be as successful as I can,” said Behler. This year, Behler was offered the Commander’s Leadership Scholarship, a full-tuition Air Force ROTC scholarship to attend Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. “Each Air Force ROTC Detachment Commander is authorized to award one four-year scholarship per year. We call it the ‘golden ticket.’ Students who receive the ‘golden ticket’ do not need to compete at the national level for an Air Force ROTC scholarship. Maslyn Behler interviewed with the Air Force ROTC Detachment Commander at Wilkes University and was awarded his "golden ticket," said Lieutenant Colonel Sprenkle.This scholarship specifically is only awarded to one JROTC cadet per university in the state that offers an AFROTC program. Along with Wilkes, the other universities that offer this scholarship in Pennsylvania are Penn State, Temple, University of Pittsburgh, Saint Joseph’s and Carlow University. Behler was one of six cadets statewide offered the Commander’s Leadership Scholarship. “When Lieutenant Colonel Hartmann told me [that I would be receiving this scholarship], he said I looked like a deer in headlights. I was expecting some type of scholarship once my application was reviewed but was not expecting a scholarship on the spot and definitely not a full ride. I was very surprised and excited,” said Behler.

“Since I am planning on majoring in biology, I technically have a four-year type two scholarship, which offerers $18,000 per year because my major is not what the military calls a ‘technical major.’ But, I can stack scholarships that Wilkes may offer me through the honors program and academic or merit scholarships,” said Behler. Behler said prior to being offered this scholarship, she was looking into the Army ROTC program through the University of Delaware detachment. “I am currently still applying for the Air Force Academy and the United States Military Academy (West Point) because they are really my top schools. If I am offered a spot at either of these academies, I have the opportunity to turn down the scholarship at Wilkes University and go there. Either way, I will be commissioned as an officer in the military out of college,” said Behler. Behler said that she wants plans on pursuing a career in the medical field or medical research in the military but understands that her plan may change throughout college.

“Graduating through Wilkes AFROTC would mean I am commissioned in the Air Force. The one thing I am sure of is that I am planning on being a second lieutenant in the military,” she said. Behler said Central’s JROTC program was a deciding factor for her to go into the military after high school. “When the school started the program, I knew that this was the time to see if I really would like to serve in the military. Once I began the class, I realized that being in the military is something I could definitely do. So, while I had interest prior to JROTC, I confirmed [through Central’s program] that I wanted to serve after high school,” she said.

Behler said that her process in JROTC started as a sophomore, rather than a senior.

“I enjoy pretty much the whole program. I like that you start out new with not too many big responsibilities. If you continue to the next classes, you are able to take on more and more leadership positions if that is something you want. The JROTC program is only as beneficial as you make it. If you put work into the class, you will get a lot out. If you just sit in the back and do not participate in any extracurriculars, then you will not get as much out,” said Behler. Behler said that JROTC has given her opportunities that she would not have had otherwise.

“I am not sure that I would have been so confident in myself to apply for these ROTC and Service Academy opportunities if I did not have the support and help of my fellow cadets and JROTC instructors. Lieutenant Colonel Sprenkle and Chief Master Sergeant Sandacz really pushed me to be the best I can be and to take on every challenge that leadership and JROTC presents me with.”

“Maslyn Behler is an outstanding cadet. She possesses an unwavering moral compass, a steely determination and a servant-leader heart. She is generous with her time and talents, tutoring other students, participating in philanthropic events like Mini-THON and being a mentor to other cadets,” said Sprenkle. Behler said that her focus in the military would be to help people and give back.“Our country has given me so much, that I hope to give some of it back in any way I can,” she said.For Central senior Maslyn Behler, going into the military was something she said she always felt drawn towards.

“I remember when I was little, we would go to Annapolis for the day, and I would see the midshipmen from the Naval Academy. I looked up to them as someone I wanted to be like someday. My goal in my future career is to serve and make our country a better place, help people as much as I can, work hard, grow as a person and a leader and be as successful as I can,” said Behler.

This year, Behler was offered the Commander’s Leadership Scholarship, a full-tuition Air Force ROTC scholarship to attend Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania.

“Each Air Force ROTC Detachment Commander is authorized to award one four-year scholarship per year. We call it the ‘golden ticket.’ Students who receive the ‘golden ticket’ do not need to compete at the national level for an Air Force ROTC scholarship. Maslyn Behler interviewed with the Air Force ROTC Detachment Commander at Wilkes University and was awarded his "golden ticket," said Lieutenant Colonel Sprenkle.

This scholarship specifically is only awarded to one JROTC cadet per university in the state that offers an AFROTC program. Along with Wilkes, the other universities that offer this scholarship in Pennsylvania are Penn State, Temple, University of Pittsburgh, Saint Joseph’s and Carlow University. Behler was one of six cadets statewide offered the Commander’s Leadership Scholarship.

“When Lieutenant Colonel Hartmann told me [that I would be receiving this scholarship], he said I looked like a deer in headlights. I was expecting some type of scholarship once my application was reviewed but was not expecting a scholarship on the spot and definitely not a full ride. I was very surprised and excited,” said Behler.

“Since I am planning on majoring in biology, I technically have a four-year type two scholarship, which offerers $18,000 per year because my major is not what the military calls a ‘technical major.’ But, I can stack scholarships that Wilkes may offer me through the honors program and academic or merit scholarships,” said Behler.

Behler said prior to being offered this scholarship, she was looking into the Army ROTC program through the University of Delaware detachment.

“I am currently still applying for the Air Force Academy and the United States Military Academy (West Point) because they are really my top schools. If I am offered a spot at either of these academies, I have the opportunity to turn down the scholarship at Wilkes University and go there. Either way, I will be commissioned as an officer in the military out of college,” said Behler.

Behler said that she wants plans on pursuing a career in the medical field or medical research in the military but understands that her plan may change throughout college.

“Graduating through Wilkes AFROTC would mean I am commissioned in the Air Force. The one thing I am sure of is that I am planning on being a second lieutenant in the military,” she said.

Behler said Central’s JROTC program was a deciding factor for her to go into the military after high school.

“When the school started the program, I knew that this was the time to see if I really would like to serve in the military. Once I began the class, I realized that being in the military is something I could definitely do. So, while I had interest prior to JROTC, I confirmed [through Central’s program] that I wanted to serve after high school,” she said.

Behler said that her process in JROTC started as a sophomore, rather than a senior.

“I enjoy pretty much the whole program. I like that you start out new with not too many big responsibilities. If you continue to the next classes, you are able to take on more and more leadership positions if that is something you want. The JROTC program is only as beneficial as you make it. If you put work into the class, you will get a lot out. If you just sit in the back and do not participate in any extracurriculars, then you will not get as much out,” said Behler.

Behler said that JROTC has given her opportunities that she would not have had otherwise.

“I am not sure that I would have been so confident in myself to apply for these ROTC and Service Academy opportunities if I did not have the support and help of my fellow cadets and JROTC instructors. Lieutenant Colonel Sprenkle and Chief Master Sergeant Sandacz really pushed me to be the best I can be and to take on every challenge that leadership and JROTC presents me with.”

“Maslyn Behler is an outstanding cadet. She possesses an unwavering moral compass, a steely determination and a servant-leader heart. She is generous with her time and talents, tutoring other students, participating in philanthropic events like Mini-THON and being a mentor to other cadets,” said Sprenkle.

Behler said that her focus in the military would be to help people and give back.

“Our country has given me so much, that I hope to give some of it back in any way I can,” she said.

bottom of page