top of page

Central York junior selected to All-State soccer team

It was a successful season for the Central York Girls Soccer team as they won their third consecutive YAIAA County Championship. Overall, the team went 14-5-1 for the season. Unfortunately, their season ended in the first round of district playoffs.

“The girls that were on the team this year made this season better than the others. Our team was like a family. We all got along and were constantly pushing each other to do our best,” said Madison Davis, a Junior Defender.

Davis was selected for the All-State Team, which is a team consisting of the best soccer players in Pennsylvania. Head coach, Eric Webb says he was extremely excited for her, and it was well deserved. Davis was shocked when she found she was selected to the All-State Team.

“Honestly, I really did not expect it. It is a really awesome accomplishment and makes me want to work even harder to prepare for next season,” Davis said.

Davis says she is now ready to work hard during the offseason.

“A hurdle that I had to overcome this year was gaining chemistry with the younger players on our team. But luckily it took little time to gain trust and confidence in them.” she said. “My goals for next year are to make it further than any other CYGS team has. I think our team has a lot of potential for next year. We have a lot of returning players which is a huge advantage for us. I'm excited to see what will unfold in my senior season.”

They want to win a fourth County Championship in a row, as well as advancing in districts. To do that Davis says, she is going to spend her offseason playing with her club team to become more knowledgeable about the game. If she isn’t playing soccer for her club team she will be training to become faster and stronger.

Davis has not played soccer as long as most of her other teammates. “Chloe Carns and my mom both inspired me to play. I moved here from New York in 5th grade, and up to that point I had always been a dancer. The friends that I made when I moved here were mostly soccer players, and they convinced me to give it a try.” Her first year of soccer was in sixth grade and she hasn’t stopped playing since.

One person that inspired her is senior teammate Hannah Ferguson.

“She was an all-around great leader. She always gave 110 percent on the field, whether it was at practice or in our games.”

There is another important person in her life. “My role model is my mom. I look up to her in everything I do. She is someone I hope to be like when I get older. She always puts everyone before herself. I come from a very competitive family, so when it comes to soccer, she is pushing me to be the best I can be.”

Congratulations to the girls soccer team on a season filled with great success. Head Coach Eric Webb said, “Throughout the year we stayed consistent, from day one of the season to the end the season. Theree were no highs and lows, just really steady.” Webb hopes to remain competitive in the league, counties, and districts next year and is ready to tackle the challenge of winning four county championships in a row.

bottom of page