top of page

What does the future hold for the Prowler staff?

For the 2018-2019 school year, I have done a themed horoscope for every edition of The Prowler and On The Prowl. My enjoyment of analyzing astrology drove me to do something creative and explore another one of my interests: tarot card readings.

A portion of the Prowler staff and I joined tarot card reader Angela Lucy on a Skype call. Lucy’s tarot card interest began when she was in college.

“I went to get my cards read with my college roommate and I found it helpful,” she said. This piqued Lucy’s interest in tarot cards. She began to practice. She taught herself how to read tarot cards and has been a tarot card reader full-time for seven years.

Lucy’s experience made her the perfect person for our first reading with a tarot card reader.

On April 3, 2019, our group piled into the HUB to Skype Lucy. She began by explaining how the reading would go. We were told to ask a question about anything we desired to know more relating to our lives. She would shuffle the card deck and wait for us to tell her to stop shuffling. Then, she’d read our cards.

Managing Editor of The Prowler Marita Blake went first.

“I asked about what was holding me back most currently because as a senior in high school going far away for college, it’s easy to get caught up in everything and not see the big picture,” said Blake. “I learned that I need to live in the moment a little bit more, not worry about the future so much and what’s to come.”

I went next, and I asked her about my love life, because who isn’t curious about that? She told me so many things that were so spot on about my life it was almost creepy, and it also sparked excitement and hope for the future of my relationships.

Opinions Editor Max Reeder followed me, asking about his love life as well.

“Honestly, I was pretty skeptical going into the reading. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I certainly didn’t think she was going to get everything correct. I was amazed by her talent and I highly suggest everyone tries a psychic reading at least once in their lifetime,” said Reeder.

Staff Writer Sarah Szczypinski followed suit.

“The reading was really fun but crazy in the sense that she got everything right,” said Szczypinski.

The overall experience of getting our tarot cards read was very enjoyable, as well as eye-opening.

“I’m already seeing a difference in how I’m thinking about life and about my daily experiences. Even if you don’t believe in the cards themselves, I think that they can point out something beneficial for everyone,” said Blake.

The experience was one I will never forget, and I highly recommend anyone, skeptic or believer, to participate in a tarot card reading. Take a walk outside your comfort zone to learn something new about yourself.

bottom of page